Lines Of Latitude Are Also Called

We thoroughly check each answer to a question to provide you with the most correct answers. Found a mistake? Tell us about it through the REPORT button at the bottom of the page. Ctrl+F (Cmd+F) will help you a lot when searching through such a large set of questions.

Lines Of Latitude Are Also Called:


Lines of latitude are also called parallels. [Source]

The Earth is divided into parallels of latitude, also known as lines of latitude. They run from east to west but determine your distance north or south. The equator is the most well-known parallel. At 0 degrees latitude, it divides the planet into the Northern and Southern hemispheres in half. As you go north or south, the degree of latitude increases, reaching 90 degrees at each pole.

Latitudes are measured in degrees north and south of the equator. The terms N and S refer to parallels north and south of the equator, respectively. Meridians run parallel to the poles from pole to pole.

Was this helpful?